Dalmatia – everlasting inspiration!

The central part of the Adriatic coast, from the Marina in the north to Gradac in the south, deeply drawn under the skirts of the surrounding mountains, with a series of islands and tens of kilometres of pebbled beaches, with a green hinterland further enriched by the rivers Jadro and Cetina, is a tourist area with a long and rich tradition, history and culture.

The unusual combination of natural beauty enriched by antic, old-Croatian, Romanesque and local folk architecture, which is reflected along the coast and islands in the small towns and urban centres, offers guests a variety of opportunities for rest and fun, a lulling silence but also noisy Mediterranean nights wrapped in the warm breeze of the south.
That which is common to it all is the simple and warm hearted welcome offered by your hosts, their cheerful and noisy nature, and their undisguised desire to offer their guests the best of everything.

This is a treasure which cannot be packed in a suitcase when returning home, but it will fill your soul until your next visit in the heart of Adriatic – destination of everlasting inspiration!
Split-Dalmatia County is the largest Croatian county with a total area of 14106.40 km2.

Geographically it is located in the central part of the Adriatic coast. It stretches from Vrlika in the north to the furthest Croatian island of Palagruza in the south, and from Marina in the west to Vrgorac in the east.

Split-Dalmatia county borders: The county borders on the north with the Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina, on the east with Dubrovnik-Neretva county, and it extends south to the border of Croatian territorial waters.

The county is divided into three geographical subunits:
• hinterland,
• coastal area
• islands.

The hinterland, in the continental part of the county, is crisscrossed by mountains that run parallel to the coastline. The area is sparsely populated and economically poor.
The coastal area makes a narrow strip along the coast between the mountain ranges and the sea. This area is highly urbanized and economically developed compared to the hinterland. The islands are sparsely populated, economically more developed than the hinterland; however, due to various circumstances, they have experienced permanent emigration of the population.

The island area of the county is made up of 74 islands and 57 islets and reefs. The size and population stands at 5 islands, which are Ciovo, Solta, Brac, Hvar and Vis; and 6 more inhabited islands: Veli Drvenik Mali Drvenik St. Clement, Scedro Bisevo and St. Andrew.

Split-Dalmatia County is in the zone of the Adriatic type of Mediterranean climate whose basic features are hot and dry summers and mild, wet winters.

Regional Information
Area sq.km: 4,540
Population: 454,798
Member since: 2013
Recipes: 56
Business members: 42
Facebook Twitter